LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

No longer able to download previous versions without SSP

I'm VERY disappointed to discover today that even with a valid serial number for older versions of software, Ni.com doesn't allow the download unless you have SSP.

Where I work as an R&D engineer, we don't need (or have the budget) to always have the latest version. To make older media so much more difficult to get at is probably just going to aggravate everyone, push people to search for media on the internet, and maybe resort to cracked software as well.

There should have at least been a warning email notifying us of this change so we could download a copy of the installation media to archive.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 12
(2,695 Views)

The change was actually many, many moons ago... but I was just as frustrated when I found out the hard way.  Have you tried contacting NI to see if at least they can send you a disc?

Bill
CLD
(Mid-Level minion.)
My support system ensures that I don't look totally incompetent.
Proud to say that I've progressed beyond knowing just enough to be dangerous. I now know enough to know that I have no clue about anything at all.
Humble author of the CLAD Nugget.
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 12
(2,649 Views)

Just contact NI support. If they can somehow verify that you have a valid license they will send you a (temporary) download link. You are entitled to that as the license is not a period limited one when you purchase LabVIEW in the ordinary way although there is a good chance that they will eventually follow everyone else in the industry and try to push everyone to a fully periodic license model. Most other software you can’t buy anymore but only lease a time limited right to use it!

Rolf Kalbermatter
My Blog
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 12
(2,645 Views)

I agree with you rolfk.

I back-burner'ed this for a bit and decided to get back on it today.  I called the 888-280-7645 number and pushed 0.