LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Ni-9780 Serial Data Read

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi, IM new to all of this but my project is to get this NI-9870 to send at least 5v to a pressure transducer using RS-232 and be able to read the data coming from serial port and convert it into a graph. Unfortunaly I'm having trouble getting the device to even send the correct amount of volts  to get it to work. I have an external power supply hooked up to the NI CRIO 9053 giving at least 10 volts. I get 2.6 at the serial connection and i continue to read nothing at the other end. I have taken a look at different example but am unable to come up with a resolution. If someone would help that would be greatly appreciated. I have attached a picture of the basic VISA VI. Thanks

Capture.PNG

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(1,383 Views)

Hi New,

@New2this101 wrote:

my project is to get this NI-9870 to send at least 5v to a pressure transducer using RS-232 and be able to read the data coming from serial port and convert it into a graph. Unfortunaly I'm having trouble getting the device to even send the correct amount of volts  to get it to work. I have an external power supply hooked up to the NI CRIO 9053 giving at least 10 volts. I get 2.6 at the serial connection and i continue to read nothing at the other end.

Why do you want to send "atleast 5V to a pressure sensor" using a RS232 port?

How do you want to send "that >=5V" using a common RS232 serial port?

Do you know how serial ports actually work? do you know how RS232 ports specifically work?

How did you hook up that external power supply to your cRIO? How is that connected with using a serial port?

You really need to learn to ask better questions…

@New2this101 wrote:

I have attached a picture of the basic VISA VI.

What's the point of attaching an image of code? (Do you get to a car repair with just a photo of your car?)

Next time please attach a snippet or the VI…

Best regards,
GerdW