From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Newbie question - Core 1 exercise 7-1

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello Everyone,

I started learning LabVIEW and I'm taking Core 1 training online. So far, everything went smoothly, but today I've encountered a difficulty and I can't find a solution.

The question regards exercise 7-1, figure 7-4.

I've open the block diagram and added most of the elements needed.This is what I have as for now:

fig 7-4

The problems are:

1. when I expand "Unbundle by name" there is no "Units" element. When I try to add a new element, only multiplication of "Current Temperature" is displayed.

2. How do I add a specific cluster? I want to add "Weather Data In" on the left,  how do I specify what cluster do I want to use?

3. Something is wrong with Weather Data Out cluster (the information is "This wire connects more than one data source").

Is it my fault and I'm doing something wrong or is something wrong with these example files?

I would very much appreciate your help!

Message 1 of 8
(5,012 Views)

1. That is actually a 'bundle by name' - it requires you to wire the cluster in to update the specific values by name (to identify the type/items in the cluster and also to specify the values for items not listed (e.g. from a cluster constant or the previous value from the shift register on the loop). You need to wire your cluster to the terminal sticking out the top of the 'bundle by name'.
2. The cluster 'type' is defined by the. Normally you would use type definitions to make sure that the type of each cluster is the same. When you want to add an element to the cluster, you just update the type definition.