LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Newbie needs help with PWM, DAQ, good reference guides, and life

Hey everybody,

THE SETUP:
I am a senior electrical engineer at the University of Alabama who is in the middle of a senior design project, trying to balance an inverted pendulum. I have been given labview as my programing environment; I have a PCI 6229 M DAQ card (that has yet to be installed on my machine by the powers that be.) What I will soon have to do is take the information off 2 encoders, run that through my DAQ card, through a contoller, and send out a PWM singal to drive a motor back and forth.

THE PLEA:
I do not know where to start. I have been through some of the startup materials and I can happily convert Fahrenheit degrees to Celius degrees, but I need a little more than that. I have to program a PWM algorithmn and convert the encoders signals into meaningful information. Where can I find examples that might point me in the right direction? Can anyone recommend any good reference materials on the basic (or advanced) LabVIEW applications? Any help will be greatly appreciated.

peace

Eric
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 27
(5,178 Views)
I would recommend that you buy this book :

"LabView 7 Express" by Robert H. Bishop, NI

and use Express VIs for analog input and analog outputs.

it's not really that hard, just keep reading and experimenting.

good luck,

Ed
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 27
(5,153 Views)
Eric,
Some general info that might be of some help.
Installation should be in this order:
1) Software (LabVIEW)
2) Driver (NI-DAQ 7.3.1 is the most recent version) If you don't have it on a CD, you can get it free here:
http://digital.ni.com/softlib.nsf/webcategories/85256410006C055586256BBB002C128D?opendocument&node=132060_US
3) Hardware (6229)