cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Newbie doubt: two loops, one file, one graph

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello everyone!

I’m a chemist with very little knowledge of programming (only one semestre on fortran in the first year of university, and my own curiosity), but I was recently given the task of rewriting some of the software we use on a specific equipment in the lab. It was already written on LabView, but it lacked some functions we needed and had lots of functions we never used. It was written by a master student, who left before we could test the code. I tried my best to learn it in a month and on my own. This forum was a great help sometimes, but I still need help on a final detail.

My program must read Temperature from a temperature controller (which has been given a cooling ramp), in a loop, until the difference between two consecutive readings is larger than a given value. When the criteria is met, it reads from a lock-in, plots a graph, and writes the data in a file. It has to do so, until temperature reaches a minimum, which is input by the user.

Now my problem is: I want to do a second cycle, for heating, but I want the data for the heating part to be displayed on the same XY graph, and recorded in the same file.

But since the graph and the write file are inside the first loop, I cannot link them from the new loop. Soooo, where should I place the XYgraph and the file write controls, and how do I connect both loops to them, so that I can record both the cooling and the heating?

I hope I’m not being too confusing, I’m sending my cooling code (please don’t mock my coding skills, as I really am a newbie to this 🙂 ).

Kudos everyone, and thanks in advance!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 12
(1,198 Views)
Solution
Accepted by gracabrotas

@gracabrotas wrote: