From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New HDF5 VI Library

I have been developing a new HDF5 interface library for several months, and have finally managed to get it adequately packaged for distribution. I didn't find the NI-provided library to be sufficiently easy to use, or sufficiently complete for my needs. At this point, the library is essentially complete, and I have been successfully using it in my research for several months. However, it should still be considered beta quality. It is available for Windows and Linux.

Further details and the library itself may be found at:

http://www.me.mtu.edu/researchAreas/isp/lvhdf5/

Please drop me a line, either in response to this post or to the e-mail address listed in the readme with any questions, bugs, suggestions, flames, etc.

I hope that you find the library useful. I'd hate to have created all of those icons for just my own personal pleasure!

Jason
Message 1 of 19
(7,135 Views)
Thanks for supporting all of us with your efforts!  A couple of comments that may improve your code.
  1. The timestamp is a 128 bit fixed point number with the decimal point in the center (64 bits of integer, 64 bits of fraction).  In the NI API (and NI-HWS), this is saved as a custom 128 bit integer using the following algorithm.  The Type is created by taking a NATIVE_LONG and changing the size_in_bytes to 16, the number_of_significant_bits to 128, and the endian to big endian.  On the LabVIEW side, the timestamp is typecast to an array of U32s (it really doesn't mattter, as long as it is an array of integers) before being saved as an attribute.  Set the call library node appropriately.  Simply reverse the process to read it.