LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New Global Variable creates new front panel and can't access old front panel?

Solved!
Go to solution

I'm pretty new to LabVIEW and I'm using global variables in a VI for the first time. I've run into a problem where if I create a new global variable, clicking on it does not bring up a list of front panel objects from my global panel. No list appears. If I double click, I am brought to a new second global panel.

How do I get a new global variable vi to refer to the first global panel?

I can post the VI if needed but I'm not sure how to show this issue without posting the whole project, which is a bit large. If that's the thing to do just let me know, or if there's some other way to do it.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 16
(1,711 Views)

Well, in general best coding practices, you shouldn't be using global variables at all.

That said, if you do insist on it, open the panel for the first global variable that already exists, and on that front panel, put down a control there that matches the data type and name of what you want the second global to be, and now you've stored two global values in one global VI.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 16
(1,706 Views)

I just drag the global variable file from the project window.

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions
Unofficial Forum Rules and Guidelines
"Not that we are sufficient in ourselves to claim anything as coming from us, but our sufficiency is from God" - 2 Corinthians 3:5
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 16
(1,699 Views)

@Tarnarmour wrote:

I'm pretty new to LabVIEW and I'm using global variables in a VI for the first time. I've run into a problem where if I create a new global variable, clicking on it does not bring up a list of front panel objects from my global panel. No list appears. If I double click, I am brought to a new second global panel.

How do I get a new global variable vi to refer to the first global panel?