LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need to send an email once a target is reached

Solved!
Go to solution

Hey folks, I'm having some issues trying to accomplish a personal goal here. I'm fairly new to Labview, so if this is fairly obvious, try to cut me a bit of slack Smiley Tongue I'm trying to send an email to myself, once a value from some input on the front panel reaches or exceeds a target value. I check said values once every milli-second as part of a loop. If the input is greater or equal to my target value, then I send an email using the code from the Gmail VI that's been passed around here. I've tested that the email code itself works fine, and I've successfully sent emails repeatedly. The only issue I'm stuck with is that since I check my inputs every millisecond, if the input exceeds my target goal, then an email is sent every second that said case is true. Obviously, that's overkill because no one wants a million emails per day.

What I'd like is for only one email to be sent each time that case is true. So if that case is true maybe three times in one day, then that user only recieves three emails, rather than continuous emails in the period that the case is true. I'm assuming that the best way to do this is some kind of timed loop, but unfortunately, that's where my knowledge ends. If anyone has any ideas for solutions, I'd very much appreciate it.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(3,275 Views)

The obvious answer is to use flag to indicate you've sent the email out, so you don't send it out again while the value is at or above your target. If the value drops below, then you reset the flag. The flag can be a simple Boolean that you set/reset via a shift register or Feedback node. Plenty of examples that use this premise have been posted before.