LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need some suggestions for creating a software based digital I/O counter

Hi All

I've been using LabVIEW to sucessfully create a number of fluid level monitoring applications for oil well drilling. bear in mind that I'm a geologist not a software engineer so you may have to talk/type slowly Smiley Tongue .

I've been using the USB 6009 & 6008 for these aplications so far, they are however limited by only having 1 counter per DAQ. What i'd like to do (if possible) is use the some of the digital I/O channels as counters. The events i'm attempting to count are simple open/closed pulse signals from a micro switch. The micro switch is attached to a slow running mud pump which is sending up to 3 pulses per second but is usually running at 10-80 pulses per min. The slow cycle rate of these big pumps means I can't use a frequency aplication as they don't seem to work below 1hz.

I've tried to use a case structure to create a counter but I'm afraid I can't seem to get the logic right to turn the output into a counted output. Anyone got a suggestion for things I could try?

Thanks

Kim

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(2,465 Views)

Kim,

Tttt yyyy pppp iii nnn gggg slowly.

You described your situation quite clearly.

As you probably know the digital inputs on the USB-6008/9 are software timed, so you have some uncertainty in the time of any sample.  Depending on your OS that uncertainty will typically be on the order of a few milliseconds but occasionally may be much longer.

To count the pulses in software requires a combination of several things.