LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need hwlp with writing a VI program for current, voltage and energy DAQ

Solved!
Go to solution

Need help writing a basic program. The program takes input from a voltage and current sensors from NI cDAQ hardware and records it and saves it into a excel sheet. I also want the program to calculate the energy and power consumption from the voltage and current data. I am completely new to LabView and dont even know if I am using the right packages. I am attaching my current program. Thank you in advance.

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 17
(4,399 Views)

I'm guessing you are a (graduate?) student in engineering, and as this is your first post on the Forum, are largely inexperienced (and perhaps untaught) in LabVIEW.  I also assume that being able to acquire data and process it will be important in your career (at least in getting your degree).  So here are some suggestions:

• Spend the time to learn LabVIEW.  Take a class, find a LabVIEW Guru or Mentor, and definitely spend time with the tutorial material (more is better) listed on the first page of this Forum.
  • Try to avoid using the Dreaded DAQ Assistant and its evil twin, the Dynamic Data Wire.  They are for "Quick Fixes", hide too many details from you, and discourage "thinking before acting (coding)", leading to incomprehensible Block Diagrams and frustration on your part.
  • LabVIEW is a Laboratory Virtual Instrument Engineering Workbench.  Use it as such.  Experiment.  Write tiny little programs to solve pieces of your problem, then put the pieces together.  For example, think about having a Control called "Voltage", a Control called "Current", and writing a VI that takes these two Inputs and creates Indicators Energy and Power.  How would you do this?