LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need help with writing data to the table in SQL server express 2012 database using labview

I am new to using Databases with Labview. 

I am trying to write some data to the table I made in database of SQL server express 2012 using Labview. I am using the "DB tools Insert Data.vi" to insert some random data to the table. But when I try to enter some data through the front panel, it doesn't let me write anything. 

To keeps things simple for now, I am just using 1 column in the table and just writing any to that column. Could anyone point out what I am doing wrong or how I can solve this issue?

I have also attached the sample VI I made for this. 

Thanks

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 17
(3,743 Views)

You haven't connected data type connector on DB tools Insert Data.vi... what type of data are you trying to write to the table? You will need to specify that first. I can't tell if you mean that you see a "broken arrow" prohibiting you from running the vi or if there is some other issue.  If you are familiar with database calls, communicating from LabVIEW isn't any different - those built-in functions are simply making such calls to the database on a lower-level (in fact there are even freeware toolkits for database connectivity that you can find on this site through search or on Lavag.org and look inside such toolkit functions to understand what is being done.) Mind you - data type you use must match what you have specified for that field in your database table.

-DP

--------------------------------------------------------

New Controls & Indicators made using vector graphics & animations? Click below for Pebbles UI

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 17
(3,732 Views)

Can you attach 2011 format of your VI.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Kudos are always welcome if you got solution to some extent.