From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need help with volume control

Solved!
Go to solution
I've looked around the forums and found some pretty complex ways of controlling the volume of a file being played. I'm new to LabView and was wondering if I could get an example/explanation of how to simply control the volume of a sound file via a slider. I tried to use 'Sound Output Set Volume', but couldn't figure out what the 'task ID' should be, or if it was even needed.
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(5,995 Views)
Not sure which examples you've looked at, and what you consider "pretty complex". The task ID is created by the Sound Output Configure VI. If you open the Example Finder (Help->Find Examples) and search for "sound", open the example called "Sound File to Sound Output". It has a volume slider on it. I suspect you can probably use the VI as is.
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 10
(5,987 Views)

The task ID comes from previous sound output functions.
Here's what the general sequence of sound output functions would look like.

sound output.PNG

Process:

1) Configure the output device.

2) Set the volume for the device (you can move this step inside the loop if you will be changing the volume during run time)

3) Write data to the output device. You should include some timing logic in this loop as well.

4) When you are finished, stop writing to the device.

Message Edited by Cory K on 07-28-2009 12:10 PM
Cory K
Message 3 of 10
(5,964 Views)