From 04:00 PM CDT – 08:00 PM CDT (09:00 PM UTC – 01:00 AM UTC) Tuesday, April 16, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need help keying in radio with a serial cable

Hi,

I'm kind of new to Labview but I'm working on a project where I have to key-in a Motorola radio automatically using an RS-232 cable. Does anyone know how to go about doing that or have experience with that? I'm using Labview 2010. Your help with this is appreciated.

Thanks,

dcp2232

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(2,588 Views)

First which Motorola radio model are you using? By "key-in" do you mean to cause the radio to transmit? I've worked with some models and found by grounding the PTT line will cause the radio to TX. A TTL low has worked for me in the past.

Now Using LabVIEW 2019SP1 and TestStand 2019
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 10
(2,570 Views)

Hi,

I'm using the Motorola XTS 5000. Yes, I mean transmit through the Labview program rather than pushing the button manually. When you say grounding the PTT line, do you mean connecting the PTT line with the ground wire on the serial cable? What is a TTL low? Is there a particular toolbox to use to transmit the signal to the radio. I need it to "key-in" constantly for six minutes each hour for 96 hours.

Thanks.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 10
(2,561 Views)

I worked as a radio technician a long time ago. I remember one GE mobile radio that had an LCD and keypad on the front panel. The front panel was electrically connected to the main chassis with an internal DB9 connector. Guess what the communications protocol was between the front panel and main radio chassis. Yep. TTL 300 baud RS232.

What does this have to do with the question? Nothing. It just reminded me of that. It would have been cool to interface LabVIEW to that radio.