Solved!
Go to solution

Device used:

NI-9401 high speed digital module

NI-cDAQ-9174 USB chassis

Software:

LabVIEW 2020

Hello,

This is my first attempt to write a Labview program to interface with a 3rd party device talking in serial 5V-TTL with a baud rate of 4800. The device(an inclinometer) works fine when connected to PC or an Arduino, the protocols are well defined.(attached as an image)

However, when I created a Labview and connected the device to NI9401 module in a cDAQ9174 chassis, the data packet can be received but have reliability issues, the program I wrote was able to grab the packet and the first 2 bytes seems very reliable (data header is defined 0x55 + 0x51), but the reliability goes down further in the 11 byte long packet, the last(11th) byte received is checksum and it never manage to match the real sum calculated by the program.(indicated in the screenshot)

I have talked to the support team of the serial device and I am quite certain the checksum was calculated correctly.

I suspect there may be a clock problem, even though I set the channel clock rate to 4800, there exists a minimum shift for the later bytes. But I do not know how to resolve this issue.

The vi program(written by a true novice) is attached, it can parse the data packet by doing a large sampling and use "search" function to look for the header existing in the waveform chunk, and then parse the trimmed array into bytes in order to apply the protocol.

Thank you for reading this.

JT

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(2,687 Views)

Hi Jie,

have you tried to use a USB-2-Serial converter with a TTL-compatible output?

Might be easier than to use NI9401 with DAQmx…

Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
Message 2 of 9
(2,662 Views)

Hi GerdW,

Thank you very much for your reply,

I tried Serial to USB module and Arduino, both worked fine.