LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

NI sbRIO9631 Generate Sine wave on analog output pin.

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello,

I am using NI sbRIO-9631 to generate a sine wave on one of on board analog output pin (ModB/AO0) and read the same signal on analog input pin (ModA/AI0) by connecting AO0 to AI0 physically. I have created a FPGA Target Sine Wave.vi to implement same functionality. Also am trying to read the analog values from AI0 pin and plot it on a waveform chart.

Now I want to understand, how to validate the generated analog data on both analog input and output pin? Attached are the screenshots of project structure, target VIs etc.

I am new to LabVIEW FPGA so need help to check whether the VIs are correctly implemented or NOT? Suggestions from NI community are most welcome!

Thanks.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(3,035 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author Ravi@arav

Hi Ravi,

some thoughts:

- your "ReadAnalogVoltage.vi" should be placed in the sbRIO target (in the RT target)

- right now you output a constant value on AO0: the output of that sine function will NEVER change

- I don't know how fast those AI/AO pins are on your sbRIO, but I would place a small wait inside the FPGA loop…

Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 5
(3,011 Views)

Hi GerdW,

Thanks for sharing your thoughts. So based on that, I created an another project but this time i used a sine wave generator express VI in FPGA Target. The functionality is same as the previous one and now i can see same values being read by ModA/AI0 as per the indicator to ModB/AO0. It seems like the data is valid.