LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

NI USB-8451 I2C read error '301742'

Hello, I'm using a NI USB-8451 to communicate with a TI battery gauge BQ34z100-G1 via the I2C interface. I'm new to LabVIEW as well as I2C interface so I'm stuck at a basic read operation. Using the example finder in LV, I looked up an I2C basic read operation and am using the same block diagram with a few edits (I've attached images of front panel and block diagram). For entering the addresses of registers to be read, I referred to the gauge's I2C communication document (first example in the document). However, I'm getting an error 301742:

The slave did not acknowledge an address+direction byte transmitted by the I2C master.  If you are using ACK polling, consider increasing the timeout. Other reasons include the incorrect address set in the I2C configuration or the incorrect use of the 7-bit address. When entering an address to access a 7-bit device, do not include the direction bit. The NI-845x Basic I2C API internally sets the direction bit to the correct value, depending on the function (write or read). If your datasheet specifies the 7-bit device address as a byte, discard the direction bit (bit 0) and right-shift the byte value by one to create the 7-bit address

How do I resolve this error?

Also, if there are multiple (or even one) devices connected to the 8451, what VI do I use to address them so that I'll receive an ACK? (In this block diagram, I've used the I2C basic read, which I feel might be wrong)

Battery Gauge Register AddressBattery Gauge Register AddressBlock DiagramBlock DiagramBattery gauge informationBattery gauge informationFront panelFront panelI2C basic read on NI websiteI2C basic read on NI website

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(3,138 Views)