LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

NI USB 6251 BNC does not generate correct waveform

Hey everyone,

I am a graduate student new to spectroscopy and I am having issue with my NI USB 6251 data acquisition box. My LabView program is supposed to generate a triangle wave from +2 to -2 V, but I am not observing this on the oscilloscope. I am observing a square wave of approx. 100 mV.  I also tried running programs written by other labmates and the same issue occurs. I have tried different oscilloscopes and programs, so I believe the problem must be with the data acquisition box. 

Any advice would be helpful. I am very confused as to why this would be happening since the computer clearly says to make a triangle wave and it has worked every day until now. Any ideas for troubleshooting this are greatly appreciated. 

Thank you!!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(3,514 Views)

Can you attach your VI so we can see it?  (not just a picture, though a picture of the diagram IN ADDITION to the VI never hurts).

Also, screenshots of any setup you might have done with the 6251 in NI-MAX.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(3,501 Views)

I will try to attach the program. It will require some data transfer between my lab and office computer. To simplify the setup for troubleshooting, I quickly made a signal express project that simply created an analog signal (the triangle wave) and generated that signal which was sent to the oscilloscope and the problem still occurred. 

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 7
(3,496 Views)

Have you checked your wiring?  Maybe you have a loose connection. 

aputman
------------------
Heads up! NI has moved LabVIEW to a mandatory SaaS subscription policy, along with a big price increase. Make your voice heard.
0 Kudos
Message 4 of 7
(3,495 Views)

They are all BNC connections and I have tried switching out the cables.