From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

My Solution for CLD Sample Exam (Traffic Light)

Hi there folks,

I was just preparing for my CLD exam and was going through the sample exam provided on ni.com.
I wanted to get any feedback for my solution. I looked at the solution and it seemed way to complex
to achieve a simple task! Then again, I am still learning.

ThanX in advance.
Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(5,121 Views)

nice!

i didnt look at Ni's solution, so idont know how complicated they make it.

yet, here are my 2Euro cents:

try avoiding local variable all together. use instead (if necessary), global variable (called also Action Engines, see Ben's nugget)

try also avoiding sequences. see Atenbach nugget

reasons: in your solution, the possibilities to expand your code, or use it in larger systems, is a bit limited.

good luck on your exam! Smiley Happy

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
... And here's where I keep assorted lengths of wires...
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 9
(5,097 Views)
Forgot to attach the solution!
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 9
(5,072 Views)

try avoiding local variable all together. use instead (if necessary), global variable (called also Action Engines, see Ben's nugget)

oups! i meant Functional Global Smiley Tongue

looking at this solution one can learn several things, for example:queued state machine (very versatile solution once one get used to it), a single large cluster to handle all the data, a very fast update of the loop (useful to catch errors on the fly - no need to wait for end of wait).

and by the look at it: easy to read - no crowded space, no claustrophobic sequece structures...