From 04:00 PM CDT – 08:00 PM CDT (09:00 PM UTC – 01:00 AM UTC) Tuesday, April 16, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Mutually exclusive combo boxes?!

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi,

Please excuse my silly question, absolute beginner here.

How can I make sort of 'mutually exclusive' combo boxes (not sure if that is a real thing)?

Something like this; when I select Item 1 in first box, it is grayed out in second box and I can only choose the remaining item?

Capture1.png

Thank you.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(2,556 Views)

You'll need to work with the event structure so that the value change of one box causes the other box to change its choice of selections.

This can be tricky.  What happens if someone selects from the second box first?

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 8
(2,551 Views)

I remember, but sadly can't find at the moment*, a blog post about a case study about a few thousands of such combo-box-like elements being necessary for a project. Just saving the list of strings for each of them would have been a significant memory drain.

The solution was to generate the Strings[] array on the fly whenever one of the controls was clicked. On a value change, the array was then purged again, with the selected string remaining on display.

You could probably make an FGV holding the Strings[] and for each String some sort of counter if, or reference where, it is already used.

[*]I would be glad to know if anyone remembers the source for this. That blog had some nice design ideas.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 8
(2,535 Views)

Doesn't matter, the selection should be unique.

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 8
(2,524 Views)