LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Modbus RTU485 comm with digital sensor

Solved!
Go to solution

Thanks. I am new to Labview and I think I will continue with the VI and the Modbus library I have now.

0 Kudos
Message 11 of 30
(997 Views)

@dotis10 wrote:

My "Single precision float" seems to be different from the typecast output. Pink vs orange? 😐

typecast.png

A couple of values have two register addresses next to each other in the read register (due to float?). For example "Temperature (Secondary Value), degrees C, register 1010-1011".. Does these  values have to be merged before the type casting? Or how does that work? And if I want to read values from different addresses, with different units - how do I handle that?

In order logg data from, lets say the temperature over 60sec or so, do I connect the typecast output to the Signal on the Write to Measurement File? 

You wired in a string constant.  You need to wire a constant that is a single precision float.  If you have multiple addresses, make that constant a 1-D array of  single precision floats.  It witll then convert it to an array of 1-D SGL's.

Message 12 of 30
(989 Views)

@RavensFan wrote:

@dotis10 wrote:

My "Single precision float" seems to be different from the typecast output. Pink vs orange? 😐

typecast.png

A couple of values have two register addresses next to each other in the read register (due to float?). For example "Temperature (Secondary Value), degrees C, register 1010-1011".. Does these  values have to be merged before the type casting? Or how does that work? And if I want to read values from different addresses, with different units - how do I handle that?

In order logg data from, lets say the temperature over 60sec or so, do I connect the typecast output to the Signal on the Write to Measurement File?