LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Modbus RTU rate

I recently bought a cheap Modbus digital and analog I/O module, which I poll with a simple loop with the read and write commands (from the Modbus library) in a sequence structure. Depending on the number of modbus commands I put in the sequence, I can get the loop to run at about 10 Hz maximum. 

I'm a novice to Modbus and Labview and am interested to know if there is any way to increase the speed that I communicate with the device. I have already increased the baud rate to the maximum supported.

The IO module I'm using is Modbus RTU and I wonder if TCP devices are generally faster - although I appreciate this could be very device specific.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(1,875 Views)

Hi Mylonit,

@Mylonit wrote:

The IO module I'm using is Modbus RTU and I wonder if TCP devices are generally faster - although I appreciate this could be very device specific.

By stating that insight you should also state the specific type of your device or even provide its manual…

Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 6
(1,855 Views)

@Mylonit wrote:

I recently bought a cheap Modbus digital and analog I/O module, which I poll with a simple loop with the read and write commands (from the Modbus library) in a sequence structure. Depending on the number of modbus commands I put in the sequence, I can get the loop to run at about 10 Hz maximum. 

I'm a novice to Modbus and Labview and am interested to know if there is any way to increase the speed that I communicate with the device. I have already increased the baud rate to the maximum supported.

Yes, no. Maybe...

What is the maximum baud rate you device can use?

I did a project with 12 watt meters using Modbus RTU at 57600 baud. I was requesting 5 multi-register reads from all 12 devices in a loop and getting a little less than 1 second update rate.

========================