LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Medibus Protocol VISA help wanted!!

Hi All,

I am new in LabView.  I am under to pump to finish by college work to implement MEDIBUS protocol for medical devices used by Drager in Labview. If anyone has ever done it,  plese help!

I can take serial data , port its output, save in file or turn it in graphs. However, medibus implements the comples ASCII hex 2 byte checksum , CR and SOH in every data. I simply cannot truncate last three bytes of checksum data and SOH  byte and save it. Also, it needs initialization and commands with 2 byte checksum of LSB in ascii hex with CR and ESC at front. Can anyone please help me?

Truncating 3 bytes at end, one byte at beginning while receiving and adding checksum, adding extra byte and beginning and end is driving me crazy. Please ideas, any inputs will be highly apreciated. 

Sasha

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 17
(4,889 Views)

You need to read the documentation for the serial protocol to figure out how to generate/check the checksum - there are a number of different ways of calculating a checksum (e.g. CRC-16, simple XOR etc.). It's like someone sending you a whole page of text without telling you what language it's written in!

If you can find the page of documentation on the Medibus protocol that gives the details of the checksum it should tell you what you need to do to the bytes to calculate the checksum. Normally it involves performing some logic/shifting on the data bytes (e.g. XOR) which can easily be done in LabVIEW.

LabVIEW Champion, CLA, CLED, CTD
(blog)
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 17
(4,864 Views)