LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Measuring voltage with the NI USB-6211 at MHz

Hi all,

I am not an expert on data acquisition however I would like to have a VI to measure the voltage of a signal which is about 1-3 MHz and 0-5V by using the NI USB-6211. Now I am aware of the fact that the 6211 has a rate of 250kS/s which is not enough. Now, I don’t really care about the frequency of my signal. I just want to get the AC voltage like peak to peak. Doses somebody has an idea how such a VI would look like?

Thank you in advance 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(2,697 Views)

Hi Nigel,

Doses somebody has an idea how such a VI would look like?

Yes.

Did you try to search for suitable example VIs in the ExampleFinder?

Something like "Continuous Voltage Measurement"?

want to get the AC voltage like peak to peak.

Try to find the min/max of the voltage signal to calculate peak-to-peak…

Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(2,691 Views)

Hi,

thank you for your reply. I already check some examples but in the matter of measuring they are more or less the same like I have DAQ AI Voltage->Sample Clock->Start Task-> aso.. But here I always end up with some anti-aliasing signals. I test it with a frequency generator and the measured voltage was also lower.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 7
(2,670 Views)

Back in the old days a RF-Probe was used for things like this.

http://www.qrpkits.com/files/RF_Probe_How_To.pdf

There are a lot of DIY tutorials on the web. Keep in mind that the type of diode is important..

I would do some sort of amplitude calibration at 100 kHz ... or use a scope ..

Or you build a RF RMS converter .. linear has a IC for that ...

Greetings from Germany
Henrik

LV since v3.1

“ground” is a convenient fantasy

'˙˙˙˙uıɐƃɐ lɐıp puɐ °06 ǝuoɥd ɹnoʎ uɹnʇ ǝsɐǝld 'ʎɹɐuıƃɐɯı sı pǝlɐıp ǝʌɐɥ noʎ ɹǝqɯnu ǝɥʇ'

Message 4 of 7
(2,664 Views)