cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Measuring time to get certain number of ticks from Digital output of a sensor

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello Everyone,

I am using speed sensor MX5015 through sbRio-9636 board.My target is to measure the time when the sensor gives 40 rising edge and repeat it. To get this, I put a counter. If the counter is equal to 40, then I am trying to get the timing through Tick count expresss VI (screenshot). But it is not giving me the time till the sensor get 40 rising edge.

Can you please tell me what is the problem with this method? or is there any other method by which I can measure the time?

digital input.PNG

I am new in LabVIEW. so if I did someting really stupid, please forgive me. 🙂

Best Regards

Sazzad

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(3,079 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author Legolas-Elf

You've answered your own question.

Sazzad wrote:. If the counter is equal to 40, then I am trying to get the timing through Tick count expresss VI (screenshot). But it is not giving me the time till the sensor get 40 rising edge.

Also, you have an infinite while loop once the count equals 40 and the true case run, the loop inside of it will run forever because you have a False wired to the stop terminal.

Message 2 of 6
(3,056 Views)

Hello Knight of NI ,

Thank you for pointing me out the mistake. I change the conditional terminal of while loop to True and it is giving me the time. Smiley Very Happy

But the problem is now the time it is counting is when I start running the program. I want to count the time when the digital input start to giving pulses. In order to do this I gave a case structure so that if digital input give pulses the tick count will start (screenshot below). But this is not working.tick count.PNG

Do you have any suggestion how to solve this problem?

Thank you.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 6
(3,031 Views)

Hi Sazzad,

I change the conditional terminal of while loop to True and it is giving me the time.