LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Measuring current using USB 6009 with a Rheostat as shunt resistor

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi all, I'm a Electronic Engineering Student doing my final year project. I'm able to measure the current and voltage of a 9V battery, but unsure the method i use if it is correct.

For the voltage, I've no problem getting it. But for the current, I've connected a 1k resistor parallel with the battery. When I run the program, I've got a 9mA for the battery. I understand when using the DAQ assistant, for the setup for current measurement for USB 6009, I need to specify the shunt resistor as 'external' and the shunt resistor value (which is 1k for the above experiment).

Therefore, my question is when I'm using a rheostat as the shunt resistor, what value should i specify, as a Rheostat is a variable resistor, so it does not have a fix value. 

Or the rheostat cannot be the shunt resistor?

Really need help and thank you for the reply.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 16
(6,286 Views)

Hi Kiat,

how do you want to measure current with a variable resistor? How will you determine R to be able to apply Ohm's law?

But for the current, I've connected a 1k resistor parallel with the battery

How do you want to measure any current, when you put a resistor in parallel to your voltage source?

Maybe you should not only look up Ohm's law in wikipedia, but also Kirchhoff's laws!

Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 16
(6,275 Views)

Maybe this will help....

http://www.ni.com/white-paper/7077/en/

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 16
(6,272 Views)

This is really EE101 stuff.