From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Measuring and displaying time difference between peaks from two different channels

Hi,

I am new to Labview and am having some trouble trying to measure the time difference between the two highest peaks coming from two different accelerometer signals/channels. Other posts have mentioned similar problems but I am still confused and would appreciate any help.

So far, the two channels are each using the peak detection VI and then a shift register with a Min/Max array which is supposed to detect the location of the highest peak value from each channel. What I would like to know is:

How to convert of the highest peak locations into units of time. (The conversion I am using is not working)

How to keep this time difference displayed after sampling has finished

Any help is appreciated. Thank you.

Johnny

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 12
(5,460 Views)

Hi Johnny.  I recognize a couple things that you should change.  The first is that the Locations output of the Peak Detector vi you are using returns the indexes of the peaks, not the time value or amplitude.  When you wire the Locations output to the Array Min/Max function, it is spitting out the highest and lowest index, not the highest and lowest amplitude peak.  So if it finds 5 peaks, the Array Min/Max function will return the index of the 5th peak, not the highest amplitude peak.   I think you probably want to wire the Amplitude output from the Peak Detector to the Min/Max function to find the highest peak.  Then you can use use the Search 1D Array to find the index that corresponds to the the highest peak.