LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Making something in a Pict Array move automatically

Hi,

I'm pretty new to labview and im working on a project, making a game that is fairly similar to Pac-Man.

I've got most of the game working, but I'm not entirely sure on how to make the 'enemies' and the 'treasure' move on their own, independant of what I, the player, does - either randomly or the enemies specifically targetting the player and the treasure moving away from the player.

Also, I pull the map files out of an excel file, and I have several created. How do I make it so that a random one is chosen and used as the base to make the map?

Thank You

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 2
(2,562 Views)

I'm not sure I understand your question.  You clearly know about Random Numbers (I see you using them in your code).  

Here are suggestions.

• Use the Error Line to explicitly "serialize" those parts of your code that are serial in nature.
  • Try to keep wires straight and horizontal.
  • Keep Block Diagrams small (fit onto a single screen).
  • Make use of sub-VIs (a lot) to "keep diagrams small" (a 32 x 32 pixel sub-VI, particularly with a self-documenting Icon, can replace a 400 x 400 pixel chunk of code).
  • An example of a sub-VI begging to be written is "Choose N", which takes in N and returns a Random Integer in the range 0 .. N-1.  Use NI Best Practice when creating sub-VIs -- use the default 4-2-2-4 Connector Pane, use two lower corners for Error In and Error Out, create an Icon, even if only a White Box with the words "Choose N" inside.
  • -- create a "Choose" sub-VI that takes an I32, "N" as an input and returns a "Random Integer" in the range 0 .. N-1.  "Best Practice" for sub-VIs is to use the 4-2-2-4 (default) Connector pattern, make the lower left Error In, the lower right Error Out.