LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Maintaining *.lvlib inside another *.lvlibs

Good day!

I am new to LabVIEW, I use version 2018. I want to have library that contain some sublibraries. On disk it looks like this:

Custom Libraries folder

- Library 1 folder

- Public folder

- Private folder

- Library 1.lvlib

- Library 2 folder

- Public folder

- Private folder

- Library 2.lvlib

When I add Library 2 to Library 1 via project manager and save Library 1 it shows me that Library 2 change its membership, and if I try to open Library 2 separately it opens Library 1 that contains Library 2. Why this happens? In text programming languages if I have Library 1 that contain another Library 2 I can use Library 2 separately and don't load Library 1 to project to use Library 2. I figure out if I copy Library 2 folder to Library 1 folder and add it to Library 1 via manager then I will be able to use Library 2 separately if I use it from its own folder. With this situation I have question: how can I maintain Library 2 if it will be used in many others Libraries? I will have to copy Library 2 manually to all Libraries that use it?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 3
(1,682 Views)

@LegT wrote:

With this situation I have question: how can I maintain Library 2 if it will be used in many others Libraries? I will have to copy Library 2 manually to all Libraries that use it?

Sounds like Library 2 does not actually belong inside of Library 1.  But that does not mean you cannot call VIs from Library 2 inside of VIs in Library 1.

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions
Unofficial Forum Rules and Guidelines
"Not that we are sufficient in ourselves to claim anything as coming from us, but our sufficiency is from God" - 2 Corinthians 3:5
Message 2 of 3
(1,652 Views)

After a little bit of time, I think I should have put a little more explanation in.