cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

MS257 monochromator shows up in NI MAX but can't connect on LabVIEW 2011 SP1

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi, 

I am fairly new to labVIEW so please bear with me. I am using an old monochromator (MS 257) with most documentation available here https://www.newport.com/f/ms257-1_4-m-imaging-spectrograph. I downloaded Oriel API examples and Instructions under the "Resources" section and had someone down convert them to LabVIEW 2011 SP1. I am using an RS232 to USB cable, windows detects it and it also shows up in NI MAX as a COM port.

Newport provided me with the Mono Utility software for the MS257 and it is working fine. I want to take step measurements which depends on other instruments, so using the mono utility is not practical because I want to automate the entire process. Since the mono utility software is written in LabVIEW, I figured I can get the source code and modify it such that I can do my step measurements. Problem is, the LabVIEW files  (from the website and the 2011 version is also attached) are not detecting the instrument. I am not sure how to troubleshoot this since the instrument shows up in NI MAX and the Mono Utility software (written in LabVIEW) works just fine. I attached some screenshots of what I'm seeing. 

Thank you!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(997 Views)

Hi dave,

have you tried to send commands directly to the (virtual) COM port instead of using that MS257USB dll?

After all the device seems to provide a "normal" virtual COM port…

@davenalaa wrote:

Problem is, the LabVIEW files  (from the website and the 2011 version is also attached) are not detecting the instrument. I am not sure how to troubleshoot this since the instrument shows up in NI MAX and the Mono Utility software (written in LabVIEW) works just fine. I attached some screenshots of what I'm seeing. 

Did you try to debug those VIs?