From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

MODBUS RS 485 VISA Communication with sensor

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello All, 

This is my first time posting (even though I have taken advantage of  great posts many times). I have a Modbus RS 485 sensor that I am trying to communicate with. I can successfully do so using Matlab (I have included the vi with the script), but when I try to do so using VISA communication labview vis, the sensor is timing out. I have tried the MODBUS libraries available (not supported by NI), but no luck. Unfortunately, there is no way to tell exactly what fwrite and fread are doing in Matlab (I wanted to check so I could reproduce the syntax in the input string for the VISA in Labview).

Any suggestions? Thank you all for your help in the past, and hopefully with this one. 

jlp324

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 12
(3,814 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author jlp324

The various Modbus libraries DO work, even the ones that are "unsupported".  The problems with your VI:

1.  You configured it with the termination character enabled.  When you work with binary data such as modbus, that will cause you problems if your data string contains a byte equal to the termination character it its data packet.

2.  You are reading 200 bytes.  When your communication protocol doesn't have a termination character, and you try to read more bytes than are coming, you will get a timeout.

3.  Your command you are writing out isn't saved in your VI by default, so we don't know if you are sending the correct command.

Try the attached VI.  It uses one of the original Modbus libraries which I liked because you can dig into it and see the underlying code.