LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Looking to Write vi that will Grab Smaller Sub-images Out of a Gigapixel Photograph

I am looking into developing a program that would be capable of opening a 1 to 6 Gigapixel image (stored either as a Photoshop .psb or a ,jpg format). Once the image is open I want to capture 8K video frame sized images out of the original image. I am a LV programmer with around 22 years of experience developing LV applications. I have never delved into working with images. I also am a photographer that specializes in shooting Gigapixel Wall Mural photos such as the one at this link: http://abbascreationsphotography.com/Cape_Royal_South_East_View.htm

I want to create virtual tours of this type of photo that can be edited in 8K video like a time lapse. 8K video has a frame size of 7680×4320 pixels. Therefore, I want to grab 7680×4320 sized blocks out of the original image and store them as individual frames in .jpg files that would become part of a "time lapse" sequence. Ultimately I would like to be able to draw a path onto an overlay of the photo that my LV program would follow grabbing a frame every n pixels as it traces the path through the original image.

I envision the following issues:

1. First challenge would be to import the full image into an array capable of holding it. The image in the link above is 51,928 x 116,112 pixels (6.02 Gigapixels). The jpg file size is 216 MB. Thus, I see me needing an array size of 51,928 x 116,112 with a bit depth of 24 bits for color jpg. The PC I intend to run this on is a 64 bit i7 Hex core CPU and it has 128GB of RAM. I am unsure if LV can handle an array of this size.
  2. The example below that I found here on the forum readily handles 7952 x 5304 pixel image from my Sony A7Rii. However if I try it with a image that is 61368 x 24952 pixels it crashes LV.

So the question is, Am I attempting something that is completely out of LV's capability?

0 Kudos