LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Looking for walk-through on how to calculate a band ratio along with macro

Hi All, 

I'm new to EEG data classification and analysis and am seeking some help with software recommendations and a bit of a programming walkthrough (if necessary). I thank you in advance for reading and for your support. 

To provide a general overview, using an Emotiv EEG headset, I am trying to calculate a band ratio in real-time, namely the "engagement index" or combined beta power / (combined alpha power + combined theta power). I'm open to using any open-source or low cost software to compute this index. 

In addition, I need software or a combination of software that can in real-time or with some slight delay trigger keystrokes when certain fluctuations in this index occurs. For example, if the index drops below .50 I would like for the system to press Z or some other key I designate or, if the index raises above .70 I would like for the system to press F or some other key I designate. 

I suppose for now I'll cut this post off before going into potentially unnecessary detail.

Thank you! 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(2,486 Views)

Hello cube0,

Are you looking to use LabVIEW or other NI software/hardware for your application? Do you have specific questions about NI products or are you just asking for general knowledge? Either way, you can download an evaluation of LabVIEW 2013 from our website (https://lumen.ni.com/nicif/US/EVALLV/content.xhtml) and test it for your application for up to 30 days. I would also encourage you to browse through the forums and community examples to get an idea of what LabVIEW can do.  

Jonathan L.
Technical Support Senior Group Manager
National Instruments
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 6
(2,444 Views)

I have done some theta "band ratio" calculations in quasi-real-time with LabVIEW.