From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Logic <---> GUI, Communication over LOCAL TCP/IP

I've been using Labview since around 2014. It's definitely the language I'm most proficient in and Dev environment I'm most comfortable in. That said, I feel quite limited making exceptional GUIs. Any ideas that stray a bit from native labview control functionality are quite difficult/tedious or impossible to implement. 

I was thinking of splitting the logic and GUI to the point that a frontend/GUI could be implemented in another language. Local TCP seems like it could be a really flexible/useful way to do the logic-gui communication. 

I don't know what "gotchas" are out there so was wondering if others have gone the route of splitting their gui-logic like this. To be clear, I already try to split UI/logic, but so far both are still labview modules and communicate using uniquely labview methods (queues, notifiers, events, etc...). 

Thoughts?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(2,490 Views)

I'm puzzled.  One of the strong points of LabVIEW (in my limited experience, having tried to make a GUI using Matlab), is how easily/logically it handles GUIs, wasting almost no time "waiting for User input" (thanks to the Event structure), and communicating very well with "working code" (through such things as the Queued Message Handler, Producer/Consumer, etc.