From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Labview programming help: Save waveform to file in Tektronix TDS 3000 Series Driver

I am very new to LabView so I'm still learning a lot of the basics. Anyways my lab is using a TekTronix TDS 3054 in order to acquire waveform data. We are using the Dual Channel Waveform Acquire vi (Front Panel and Block diagram given in attachments). We have downloaded all the drivers and they appear to be running smoothly. 

What we are trying to do, is save the waveform to a file right after it is acquired. I have managed to do this to some extent, by right clicking the "waveform graph" in the block diagram, then going to Create>Invoke Node>Export Data to Excel. What this does is that it exports to (and opens) a new excel file every time we run the code. If we want to save the data in this excel file somewhere, we must do so manually by navigating to the excel file and then saving it.

While this is an ok temporary solution, ideally we'd like to be able to streamline this process a bit better. Namely, we'd like to add the following features to the driver

1. Have the driver automatically save the excel file (the format is not that relevant, a text file or TDMS will work too) every time we run the code
  2. Have the driver name the saved files according to some numeric naming convention