LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Labview and Length Encoders

This post relates to the use of Length encoders (typically glass-scale type), not Rotary Encoders with "linear" response characteristics. I should also point out that I am a newbie w.r.t. Labview!

In an effort to increase precision, I would like to use two glass-scale encoders arranged to produce simultaneous outputs for the same change in linear position.

The increased precision would result from combining the digital signals "in quadrature".

Is there a way to do this directly within Labview? Or, do I have to take the outputs from Labview, and manipulate them elsewhere?

Thanks in advance for your comments and suggestions.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(2,878 Views)

Hi, the easiest way would probably be to use an NI DAQ device which supports quadrature decoding. I found this link which is likely to be helpful.

Best of luck,

Michael. 

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 8
(2,838 Views)

Not sure we're on the same page, so to speak!

I am interested in using two encoders rigidly linked to the same linear motion, in this fashion:

1. Zero both counters
  2. Move both linear encoders the same amount
  3. processing the pulse count from each, resulting in a length estimate from each of the two channels
  4. Combine the pulse count / length estimate from the two devices "in quadrature" direclty within LabView (that is, mathematical quadrature ......i.e., as an average with an associated Sigma RMS value)?

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 8
(2,811 Views)