LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

LabVIEW and arduino with keypad

Hello,

I'm a student and I have a project in labVIEW but i am not very good in working with IV and arduino.

I want to connect the 4x4 keypad to arduino and use it as input in my project to write the date.

Do you have any tips? Thank you!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(1,334 Views)

Hi obiken,

@obiken wrote:

I'm a student and I have a project in labVIEW but i am not very good in working with IV and arduino.

I want to connect the 4x4 keypad to arduino and use it as input in my project to write the date.

Do you have any tips?

Suggestion: Learn LabVIEW and Arduino IDE, especially when you are "not very good" at it!

More suggestions:

• Connect the keypad to your Arduino according to its manual.
  • Implement an Arduino sketch to read the keypad input and send the corresponding chars to your computer using the (virtual) serial port of the Arduino.
  • Read those chars in LabVIEW using VISA functions.
  • Handle that input data as needed by your program…
Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 6
(1,285 Views)

Thank you for your time, GerdW.

I have a difficulty with your last step "Handle that input data as needed by your program".

I do not know how to connect these 2 programs. 😞

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 6
(1,243 Views)

Hi obiken,

@obiken wrote:

I have a difficulty with your last step "Handle that input data as needed by your program".

I do not know how to connect these 2 programs.

So the Arduino sends you that "1" character.

What should happen with this character? what do you want to achieve with that character?

(I guess you want to collect several of those chars in a string so you might think about using shift registers with a ConcatString function…)

Best regards,
GerdW

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 6
(1,239 Views)