LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

LabVIEW and FP-DO-400

Hey all,

I'm a senior mechanical engineering student at Bradley University trying to finish up a senior design project for the year.  I've got a LabVIEW VI with all of our instrumentation running exactly the way I want it...everything on that end works well.  In my set up, I've also got an FP-DO-400 module that I intend to use for some limited controlling.  For reference, the host module is an FP-1000.  We're trying to simulate rapid cycling of a compressor in an air conditioning apparatus, but that's not what I'm looking for help with.  Here's what I'm trying to accomplish:

1. Get a cycling on/off percentage using logic that I've already got (for example, 80% on, 20% off).  Multiply that by 40 seconds (so 32 seconds on, 8 seconds off).
    2. Send a voltage out of Channel 0 of the FP-DO-400 during the 'on' stage, but not during the 'off' stage.  So, there should be a voltage out for 32 seconds, and no voltage for 8 seconds.
    3. Update the cycling on/off percentage every 40 seconds.

Steps 1 and 3 aren't horrible...I think I've got them figured out.  The biggest problem I've got right now is that I don't know how to trigger the on/off for the FP-DO-400 in LabVIEW.  The command that I think I need to use is "Activate Outputs" (page 4-15 in the FP-1000/1001 Programmer Reference Manual).  The problem is that I have no idea how to execute this command from within LabVIEW.  If possible, I'd like to handle everything using my VI's block diagram, but I couldn't seem to find any way to switch the output voltage on and off from the standard toolbox.

Can you guys help?  I feel like this is a pretty simple/straightforward operation...I'm just pretty new to LabVIEW programming.

Thank you in advance for all of your help!!!

-Tom-

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(2,292 Views)

Hi Tom,