From 04:00 PM CDT – 08:00 PM CDT (09:00 PM UTC – 01:00 AM UTC) Tuesday, April 16, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

LabVIEW VI for CyberGlove

Hello.

I want to use LabVIEW to acquire data from a CyberGlove data collection glove. Since I am new to LabVIEW, I am wondering if anyone has done this before and thus might be able to help me build my VI?

Thank you.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 12
(3,947 Views)
Well, we will first need to have some more information: What is this CyberGlove? What kind of data does it collect? What kind of interface, if any, does it have as far as communications? What do you need to be able to do? Display data on a graph? Save it to file? Do some sort of analysis? If so, what kind? Is it part of some control system?
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 12
(3,938 Views)

Yes, I was not (very )specific 🙂 ..

The CyberGlove is a glove that is used to measure the movements of the digits (i.e. the thumb and the fingers) of the hand. I will be using it for a research project. The glove contains several sensors, placed at the various joints of each of the digits. For a given joint, the data collected by the glove is a voltage output yielded by the corresponding sensor and which is proportional to the angle/position of that joint. Using calibration, this voltage can then be transformed into an "anatomical" joint angle.

The glove connects to a data acquisition computer via a serial port (RS232C, Data Terminal Equipment). What I want to do specifically is to establish a connection between the glove and the computer, then to collect/acquire the data from the glove, and finally to write/save the data to a file.
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 12
(3,932 Views)