From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

LabVIEW 2018 crashes a lot!

Anyone else having crash issues with LV 2018?  I have been using LV since 2005 and I have never had LV crash problems like this.

We run 32-bit LV.  Crashes at times seem related to the use of a particular VI (such as the File Dialog express vi), and other times just systematic crash death.  It will work in the design environment and crash in a compiled EXE at some times, and crash in the design environment at other times.  We have tried uninstalling and re-installing LV and this has not worked.  Multiple users on multiple machines experience problems.  We have tried re-building from scratch vi's that seem to crash and this doesn't always fix the problems.  Any thoughts?  Any 2018 updates?  If I could go back to 2017 I would.

Message 1 of 23
(4,104 Views)

2018 is pretty stable.  Which makes me wonder how stable your code base is.  Did you follow the upgrade instructions?  What unit test changes occurred during upgrade?  Were any warnings thrown by the mass compile process?

Or, did you just install a new version delete the old IDE and wing it?

"Should be" isn't "Is" -Jay
Message 2 of 23
(4,070 Views)

We have always been pretty careful during a LabVIEW upgrade process.  Like I said, I have been doing this since LV 7 without experiencing the type of instability I experience with 2018.  The "wing it" comment was funny.  A little cynical and uncalled for, but funny.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 23
(4,063 Views)

I am a little cynical... did the mass compile step generate any warnings or errors? I don't have your codebase to mass compile myself.