From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

LabVIEW 2014 Overlay on a Continuous Feed

Hi all,

I am brand new to LabVIEW and I am having some issues. The issue I am currently having is this:

We have an intensity graph that is generated by a camera feed. Currently, I have an overlay of two circles - one that doesn't move that represents the border of our detector, and one that moves with a cursor. For each circle, we have a button that turns it on and off. Currently, the issue is that these circles are inside a "timeout" event handler, and linked to the intensity graph. This creates an issue that the circles flicker, which I want to stop.

Is there an efficient way that I can basically stop these circles from flickering? I had an idea of basically creating a transparent dummy plot of the same dimensions as the intensity graph, placing this on top of the graph, and having the overlay displayed on this, but this feels very inelegant. Is there a better way I can do this?

Thanks in advance for any help/ ideas.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(2,347 Views)

Without seeing actual code it's hard to know for sure what might be the cause.  Can you post your VI (preferred), or screenshots (better than nothing) or both (best!)?  

Without seeing it, the best I can do is speculate.  Could you:

• Move the overlays into a loop dedicated just to them?
  • Change the event that handles them to one triggered by a new frame from the camera feed?
  • Change the event that handles them from a "timeout" to a user event, that you trigger on a regular basis?

Message 2 of 8
(2,339 Views)

Thanks for getting back to me so quickly, here is a screenshot of the part that I'm trying to fix right now:

VI.pngVI2.png