LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

LVOOP HAL- Interface Class Implementation

I am relatively new to LVOOP and developing a HAL. A basic class diagram can be seen in the picture. Class.jpg

The DMM class is the Interface class. NiDMM is the Instrument-specific plug-in class. The NiDMM class has, in addition to the open connection method, a open connection with options method. The open connection method in the Base device class will be overridden by NiDMM by dynamic dispatch. 

Correct me if I am wrong. My understanding is that I program with the Interface(DMM) class and any predefined plug-in class with DD methods will be called in its place at run time. Now that I have a new device specific method (open conn with options), do I have to create a DD method in the DMM Class?

And If I have a new plug in class with a device specific method not defined in parent classes, I have to again define a memeber VI stub in the interface class? 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 12
(4,815 Views)

And this is where HALs go crazy.

My advice is to limit your interface as much as possible.  But that gets really hard at initialization.  So what I have been doing is using a configuration file that you can use to set all of the special variables that are used at initialization (class to actually load, resource name, VISA resource, etc).  I have been starting to transition to XML; others recommend JSON.  This keeps my initialization interface from getting way out of whack (just need the configuration file name or reference).

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions
Unofficial Forum Rules and Guidelines
"Not that we are sufficient in ourselves to claim anything as coming from us, but our sufficiency is from God" - 2 Corinthians 3:5
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 12
(4,789 Views)