LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

LV2020 Project has errors after clone with GIT

Dear community and LabVIEW development team,

I have been using LabVIEW in combination with GIT for many years. Nevertheless, I often find that a project with no errors on one PC has errors on another PC.

It has just happened to me again. I push a project from my office PC to a GITLAB repository and clone it to a lab PC. I have checked the commit hashes for superproject and submodules, everything is identical.
Nevertheless, two errors are displayed on the Lab PC:

Firstly, a file is faulty, because the standard express VI "Display Message to User" is not found.

Secondly, in the case of a class, it is claimed that an interface VI has not been overwritten. However, the VI  is present in the class.

On both PC LV2020 + SP1 Academic Edition is installed. IMAQdx packages differ (20.6 in office, 21 in lab), but are not used in current project.

Can someone explain to me how this behaviour comes about?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(1,704 Views)

Did you tell GIT to treat .lvprojects and .lvclass files as binary files?

If you didn't GIT will at some point merge those files.

I'd post some links, but apparently Khoros cleared my favorites.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 10
(1,664 Views)

I have had issues like this before it is usually cased by a .lvproj bad path. 

1) The path in the .lvproject does not match the path on your computer so it cant find things. 

2) The project can link to the wrong .vi on your computer if the .vi gets moved and you don't realize it, the .vi will stay in your project but not be tracked by git and cause errors on other computers