cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

LV FPGA Socketed CLIP workflow w/ NI PXIe-6591R

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello there,

I have to develop an application on a NI PXIe-6591R board. My setup also includes a PXIe-1085 chassis w/ a 8135 controller.

Goal: fit a previous VHDL project to the 6591R board. Since the application requires to access the 2 Mini-SAS HD ports and the VHDCI connector on the 6591R front panel (physical front panel) a Socketed CLIP is the only option here, isn't it?

I'm quite new to the LV FPGA framework. In order to understand the whole project flow, I'd like to run a trivial VHDL design on the 6591R: a D-FlipFlop Edge Triggered w/ Syncronous Reset. I've attached the VHDL code of the D-FF and of the CLIP wrapper.

I'd like to (1) pass a bit (LV::boolean/VHDL::std_logic) from the VI to the D port of the D-FF (name it DFF/D) and (2) drive the board LEDs according to the outputs signals (DFF/Q and DFF/QB). Also I'd like to (3) read the same outputs (DFF/Q and DFF/QB) back to the VI driving two Boolean indicators.

Following the NI white-paper, I've:

1. Successfully created an XML file from the CLIP Import Wizard interface, importing the 2 VHDL files (the D-FF and its wrapper).
  2. Selected the created CLIP from the Component Level IP Properties window. The LV_DATA_IN (host2fpga) and LV_DATA_OUT (fpga2host) I/O appear into the project tree, under the CLIP icon.
  3. Created a new VI under the FPGA device with an infinite while loop. Inside the loop I've dropped the LV_DATA_IN and LV_DATA_OUT I/O and connected them with a control (to LV_DATA_IN) and two indicators (from LV_DATA_OUT).

First, why in a simulated execution mode the behaviour of the indicators is totally random? They are not connected to any of the 6591R connectors...

Running the VI from the FPGA, it does respond to any change of the LV_DATA_IN control button... Why?

The design works as intended in Vivado both in behavioural and post-synthesis simulations.