LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

LV 8.0.1 'NOT RESPONDING' and/or 'split' and unusable front panel while scrolling

Hello,

Is anyone aware of any display or front-panel glitches and bugs with LV 8.0.1?  I have been using LV for years, but I have never seen the front panel tear itself (literally) in sections while I use the standard scoll bars at the edges of teh screen, then become completely unusable and go into [NOT RESPONDING] mode (???). In other words, my front panel displays have always moved as one continuous piece when scrolling.  During these recent episodes, I would use the scroll bars and parts of my front panel displays would not move while the other section(s) tore away and scrolled as I commanded.  When this happens, my entire PC would slow down, the CPU usage would rise and a approach 100%, and the VI was unusable.  I have been writing a particular VI for several months, starting in LV 6.1, then LV 8.0 PRO-DEV, and recently upgraded to the LV 8.0.1 'maintenance' release.  The problem that  I describe here began to occur within two weeks of the maintenance upgrade.  The problem seemed to be propagating to my back-up version after I opened each VI in unsuccessful attempts to find a VI that did not appear corrupted.  It seemed as if any VI that I opened was going to be plagued by the bug that I described above and I thought that I was going to lose months of expensive work and my job!!!!.  In a last ditch effort ( and a stroke of pure genius) I started saving some of these coorupt version as 'PREVIOUS' in LV7.1 format.  This seems to have turned the situation around, for now, and saved my VIs from becoming corrupted and completely unusable. 

Please let me know if anyone else has seen this.  Also, please let me know how to avoid this, in the future.  Does this indicate corruption of my LV 8.0.1 PRO-DEV environment or the VI files (or both)?  Does NI have tools to correct these corruptions?

Thank you.
0 Kudos