cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

LABVIEW 2019 freezes around 8 min

Solved!
Go to solution

Hey guys,

I am new to the LABVIEW world. I have a program that communicates with Agilent N5770a power supply sources and outputs the voltage based on a predetermined power profile. To get the accurate power supply, I use the measured voltage and current to calculate the resistance and feedback this value to update the voltage using a shift register. Everything runs as expected for around 8 mins (495 secs to be precise) but after that, the program freezes and stops communicating with the power supply. I have to restart LABVIEW to re-establish the communication. I'm not able to understand the reason behind this. I need to run the program for long durations. Please help me with this issue. 

I am attaching the VI below. Any help is appreciated. 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(1,424 Views)

Hi Rohan,

@rohan_koka wrote:

I am new to the LABVIEW world.

Any help is appreciated. 

• The outer while loop should be a FOR loop: you know the number of iterations before entering the loop!
  • The innermost while loop is not needed as it iterates only once!
  • Do you really need to compare 5 to 1 all the time (again)?

@rohan_koka wrote:

Everything runs as expected for around 8 mins (495 secs to be precise) but after that, the program freezes and stops communicating with the power supply. I have to restart LABVIEW to re-establish the communication.

Do you need to initialize the communication in each iteration?

What happens when you start your VI with other input values in those arrays? Does that 495s change?

What happens when you don't try to command that device as fast as possible?

Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
Message 2 of 6
(1,410 Views)

OK, let's look at the code. Do you know who wrote it?

There are a lot of driver calls that we don't have, so the problem could most likely be there.

Silly parts: