LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Keyence LK-G series communications over Labview

Hi I want to know how I can communicate with my Keyence LK-G series laser measurement system over Labview. There is no Labview driver for the device and I think it would be challenging to develop one by myself since I am a beginner. I just want to be able to read data from the device in my VI.

Thank you very much
Message 1 of 36
(21,244 Views)

It has an RS232 port and a USB port. You would use VISA to talk with the devices. Chapter 5 in the attached manual has the command structure. It comes with some software that looks like it will grab data. You could use portmon to watch the serial traffic to help reverse engineer the code. Download an existing VISA driver to see how they are setup. It basically amounts to setting up text strings to implement the available commands.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 36
(21,248 Views)
Here is an example for talking out the serial port to a digital scope.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 36
(21,244 Views)

Hello I am new to LabView

I use LabView 8.0 and want to read out the values from the aboved named system from Keyence. I use it with 2 laser to make the hight measuring of a coated film.

For this I want to use the RS 232 port from the Keyence measuring device I did all the wiring with the special connectors from Keyence. So its connected to my LPT1 port at my computer.

I use the standard example from the labview libary. The communcation works with VISA. This you will find attached.

I did all the configuration on the Keyence measuring device (Parity, data bits, baud rate ....) But when I want to send a string (For example "ASCR") like it is descripted in the manual I did not receive an value back. Why? The failure message is - 1073807339 I think this means a time out failure. The device is not responding or?

Did I forgot something or something important is missing?

Message Edited by Remulus on 07-10-2008 04:28 AM
0 Kudos