LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Keithley RS232 Multiple Channels into array

Hello Community, 

I am in Sudan right now for my Master's Thesis and I am an Mechanical Engineer. I had not the slightest clue of Labview a week ago. I used a program that was given to me and did the work. It corresponded with the Keithley via the GPIB port. However the PC got stolen and the GPIB Card costs to much and cannot be obtained in Sudan. 

I use the Keithley 2700 MUltimeter and it scans 34 channels, mostly temperatures, some humidity sensors and pressure sensors. Everything is recorded in Volt.

Since the cheapest (and fastest) way is to replace the connection with a RS232 Serial Port, we did that. Within 3 days I managed to get the hardware recognized and the programm to start a scan on the Keithley 2700. I used some parts of code from the GPIB based code and checked some examples and some tutorials. The problem I have right now, is that the Scan starts, but in the Labview on the output windows nothing is seen. 

I store all channels in an array, because I have to correct/correlate them, to show temperatures/pressures/humidities. 

I know that the problem is either, that the time between the reads is too fast/too slow or something with the VISA read or VISA write is wrong. 

But since the problem works without an error I cannot figure out, what to change. 

below is the screenshot of the important part, and the complete .vi (however it is not complicated and very simple - I hope it is okay).

To sum up my problem: I want the programm to initialize the Keithley Scan (best would be when I press a Button, but havent tried to implement that yet), and store the Data of the 34 channels into an array to use it further.

Thank you for your help.

Philipp

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 14
(5,400 Views)

My advice would be to go to Keithley and download their LabView VI's and a couple of their example programs.