LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Introducing a back/next button to rewrite/create a file?

Hi,

Here's what I want my program to do:

When I click SAVE DATA (a control button) the running data begins to save as per a specific file name acquired from a predefined list of names, which are available through a RING or ENUM for the operator to see. Now, I want to have a NEXT button, which when clicked, starts to save the current data in a new file who's name gets specified from the same list and on the RING or ENUM control we can see the next file name. Finally, I want to have a Back button which will let me go back to the previous file and replace the data saved from here on out.

I've already tried using Write to Measurement File. It helped me have a NEXT button but I haven't been able to incorporate the back button nor the custom file names.

A little background about me: I'm very new to programming, let alone LabVIEW but I'm enjoying the experience and logic required. Any help would be of great value to me.

I have attached two images which might help project a clearer picture of what I want.

Thanks.

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(3,421 Views)

Hi,

See attached example.

Gaurav k
CLD Certified !!!!!
Do not forget to Mark solution and to give Kudo if problem is solved.
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 5
(3,375 Views)

Thanks for the reply, Gaurav !

Firstly, in your program we had no signal coming in to be written so I introduced a Sine wave just like in the picture I posted earlier (although the data I would be writing is dynamic data).

I really like how you got the Next and the Back buttons there working! Thanks for that! You really made it look simple!

The next/back buttons were not writing the new files as per the names specified so I fixed that and introduced a few more things.

There are a few things which are not working as I want them to: