LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Increasing Number of Samples Taken per Second

Solved!
Go to solution

So I'm a beginner in LabVIEW, and I'm working a program to help me with some research. I have attached my VI below, and I'm taking data at a rate of about 2000 samples per second (using the time delay express VI set at .001s). However, I need to be taking data at about 10,000 samples per second, but if I try to simply decrease the amount of delay (down to .0001s), the sampling rate doesn't increase. Does anyone have any thoughts/solutions to help me out? Thanks.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(3,125 Views)
Windows cant handle such small delays. I cant look at the code right now, so general respons.
You typically set up a daq task with x sample frequency and a buffer. You read out the buffer e.g. 20 times/sec to show in a graph.
/Y
G# - Award winning reference based OOP for LV, for free! - Qestit VIPM GitHub

Qestit Systems
Certified-LabVIEW-Developer
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 5
(3,118 Views)

It would be expected that someone with a username fo "kronos.." would understand time.....

1. If you open the front panel of the Time Delay Express VI and look at the block diagrams insde your find this:

Tiem delay.png

The resolution of the Wait (ms) function is 1 millisecond. So you cannot get any specified delays shorter than that.

Two things you can do to get much faster data acquistion (assuming your DAQ devices is capable):

1. Use hardware timing on the DAQ board. Almost all boards can sample at 10000 samples per second and many are much faster. Set the sample rate to 10000 samples per second and read 1000 or 2000 samples on each call to the Read VI. No delays are required in your loop because the DAQ Read will wait for the specified number of samples.