LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

In search of a minimal LabVIEW class example

Solved!
Go to solution

Overly simplified sets of classes and class instances like those shown in the images below were very helpful when I started learning object oriented programming.  Has anyone come across or would anyone care to write a bare-bones LabVIEW example project based on one of these examples?  I know the OOP concepts but I'm implementing them in LabVIEW for the first time and haven't quite grasped the nuances of the various objects.  Correct me if I'm wrong but I think the objects are intended to be used as follows:

The .clt file contains the private class data

VI  (for implementing methods)

Virtual Folder (contain instances of the parent class)

Property Definition Folder (provide access to the class properties)

VI from Dynamic Dispatch Template (this is for implementing polymorphism)

VI from Static Dispatch Template (this is for implementing the parent method as it is written in the parent class)

VI for Override (this is for overridding the parent method in the child class)

Control (hmm, not sure what this is for)

It would be ideal to demonstrate the use of each type of class object.

Here are 3 examples of a base class along with multiple instances of the base class.  The source for each example is linked below the image.

Shape Class.png

5.1 The abstract Method and abstract class 

Person class examplePerson class example

Figure 2: Class diagram and inheritance. 

Animal class exampleAnimal class example

How to instantiate objects super class and sub-classes 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(1,029 Views)

Don't have access to LabVIEW at the moment, but I can help you with some misconceptions. It looks like you are just listing the right-click menu on the class itself, which doesn't really help you understand the intent.

@skinnedknuckles wrote:

Correct me if I'm wrong but I think the objects are intended to be used as follows: